“Does Anyone Actually Read These?”

If you’re reading this, you probably already know what this blog is about.  I’m a pastor of a small church, I post sermons here, I write devotionals, theological tid-bits, the occasional spiritual thought that I’m pondering, or other such things that interest me.  And that’s probably the challenge, isn’t it – things that interest me.

Unlike a lot of other WordPress folks and various other bloggers out there, I’ve kept this one largely impersonal.  I use my last name on the account, I rarely talk about myself as a human being, or my hobbies and interests outside of churchy matters.  I have included a picture of myself a grand total of two times on this blog in the past.  But today’s a weird day, so let’s make it three.

WIN_20160830_20_40_27_Pro

Hi, my name is Matt, and I like cats!  There’s a cross on the wall, so you still know I’m religious.

 

I’m under no allusions, this blog is almost certainly boring to most folks.  I know another Anglican clergyman who kept a blog for a while which was either titled or sub-titled “Does anyone actually read these things?”  It seems an apt tag line for a pastor’s blog, especially one as irregular as mine.  I know leorningcnihtes boc isn’t a well-curated site, or flashy in its design (or even pronounceable).  I’m a grouchy 90’s kid who still thinks that websites should be more text and fewer graphics.  Occasionally I take the time to add a picture to one of these posts, but I must confess it’s usually because I want its preview on Facebook to be something other than my standard blue cross on green background that my gravatar icon displays.  That cross picture is so… eight years ago.  (The green background is the comforter blanket on my bed in a college dorm.  Classy, huh?)

I guess what I’m trying to say is, that if you’re actually reading this, thank you!  I started this blog for my own interest and benefit, and have slowly tried to make it more accessible and interesting for other readers – not just members of my church or FB friends, but even the anonymous internet-goers in the WordPress community.

How about another confession, while I’m on this rare kick of personal thoughts on this blog.  I don’t know the standard etiquette on WordPress for when to “like” someone’s post.  Do you only “like” a post that you read and especially liked?  That’s what I’ve been doing here and on YouTube.  If that’s accurate, then I’ve got some pretty awesome fans recently.  (Back in college I jumped on the LiveJournal bandwagon, where there is no “like” function anyway.)  Or is it like Facebook, where you just “like” everything you see that you don’t dislike?  If that’s accurate, then I probably come off as somewhat unfriendly to my WordPress neighbors, and I apologize if that’s the case.

Another challenge that comes with maintaining a blog is that I don’t consistently keep up with reading the same blogs forever, and after a while my Blog Roll on the sidebar gets out of date… and despite having worked in an IT Help Desk for three years, I’m still kinda slow and clunky at keeping such details under control.  So instead I’m going to give a quick shout-out to a few of the blogs and bloggers I’ve been reading lately.  This serves, I hope, both as a thank-you for those who’ve been reading my posts as well as a pointer to other bloggers that you might also enjoy if you’ve been able to put up with me for a while.

In absolutely no particular order (I promise)…

Preventing Grace – This is the blog of an Anglican pastor’s wife with an excellent brain and brilliant sense of humor.  Her insight into family life, church life, and American culture is pretty biting and accurate, and she doesn’t beat around the bush when there’s an issue.

The Reformed Arsenal – Mr. Arsenal (yes that’s his real name) is a former coworker and classmate of mine from seminary.  He is a systematic theologian by specialty, at least by contrast to myself, and a very thoughtful writer.  We’re not always on the same page in the theological details, but I’ve long respected his views and ability to communicate them.  Keep an eye on this fellow if you want to watch our generation’s contribution to evangelical scholarship in the next few decades.

Beauty Beyond Bones – This blog is of a more personal nature, chronicling a lady’s journey of recovery from anorexia.  I’m not a long-time follower of this blog, but I have enjoyed reading her insights on spiritual matters.

The Gospel Side – Another Fr. Matt across the country keeps a blog with a very similar range of material as mine, but in a much more hip and exciting fashion.

3375F – I still don’t even know what this title means.  But then again, I’m sure a lot of people feel the same way about mine.  Whateverso, as a pastor I can’t only be reading heavy theological treatises all the time; the spirituality and scriptural musings of all sorts of Christians interests me also, and this woman’s blog shows both wisdom and fun.

Held By His Pierced Hands – This is a Roman Catholic blogger (probably not the only one I follow) who is essentially a traveling evangelist.  I’m not Roman Catholic, so there are theological differences between our respective views, but she’s very well-versed in hers, and I enjoy reading her taking the faith seriously in her context.  If only more of us loved Jesus the way she does (or at least seeks to)!

There are others I follow occasionally like St. Bede’s Blog, the Babylon Bee, Working the Beads, and Deacon Josh Watson, but then this list would just get out of control.

If you’ve made this far, thank you again!  🙂  It’s fun discovering that there are actually people out there who are interested in reading what I write.

About Fr. Brench

I'm an Anglican Priest and a sci-fi geek. Therefore, I write about spiritual formation, theology, biblical studies, and Doctor Who. But I keep those blogs separate so I don't confuse too many people!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Does Anyone Actually Read These?”

  1. Bonsai says:

    As for me, I only like something if I read it and either a) support what the person is conveying or b) enjoy their writing style. I am sure there are a few folks in bloggersville that like in order to be liked and that bothers me. I would like genuine likes for sure! I follow some of the same blogs you do but not all. I will check them out now on your recommendations. That is an awesome t-shirt by the way!

  2. mikebone1961 says:

    Matt, I’m an old foggie who’s new to blogging, so I ran across your post trying to figure out the etiquette on liking and what-not. I appreciate your musings and look forward to reading more of your posts. I also appreciate Bonsai’s word on liking-etiquette. Grace!

  3. Feel free to stop by 🙂

Leave a Reply

