Eucharistic Miracles

In my Sunday sermon a couple days ago, I mentioned Eucharistic miracles.  My Catholic-leaning readers probably know what I’m talking about, but there are plenty who probably didn’t.  To that end, here is an interesting YouTube video on the subject.

The main problem I just want to clear aside immediately is the title.  It says “proof” of such miracles, but the speaker himself says that this is not proof, just his experience and communication with other people.  He talks about the proof (scientific verification from third-party sources) that he dealt with, but his recounting of said evidence doesn’t itself constitute proof.  Besides, if it’s a real miracle from God, then the point of it is to build up the faith of God’s people, not lay a foundation for Christian apologetics.

Do I believe in this stuff?  Yeah, I think so.  I affirm the theology of the ancient Church, which has always consistently proclaimed the real presence of Christ in the bread and wine (not just a spiritual presence in the midst of Eucharistic worship), and this sort of miracle seems consistent with God’s tendency to encourage his people in ways that often surprise us.  Does it prove transubstantiation?  No, not really; transubstantiation is Rome’s explanation of how the Real Presence works, and these miracles don’t really speak to that.  They simply make visible what was invisible.

And I must admit, ever since I first heard of this sort of thing, I’ve really hoped that I might see something like this happen with my own eyes.  Just one drop of blood.

I suppose we all yearn for God’s invisible nature to be made visible somehow.  A miraculous healing, a sign from the heavens, a word of encouragement or of knowledge… something.  Thanks be to God for the signs and wonders he works!  But, as I preached on Sunday, we do not rely on such signs and wonders themselves to prop up our faith.

About Fr. Brench

I'm an Anglican Priest and a sci-fi geek. Therefore, I write about spiritual formation, theology, biblical studies, and Doctor Who. But I keep those blogs separate so I don't confuse too many people!
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

