Liturgical Space: Easter

In my mind I had this awesome vision for what I could do for Eastertide.  A white linen cloth would cover the top of the prayer desk, a matching pair of white or gold candles would adorn the desk… but I have no white cloths and I didn’t go buy a pair of candlesticks, nor do I have two candle holders; I’ve only got one.  So it’s pretty makeshift and homespun, but it’s got a certain charm to it:

I grabbed the most flowery cross we own and hung it up over the desk.  It’s a tad lower than I’d like it, but I’m not about to nail yet another nail into the wall – this apartment has plenty already.

From left to right, I’ve got a Bible, my new Catholic Psalter to try out, and a breviary I compiled.  A breviary is just the offices of Morning, Evening, and Night Prayer together in one book.  I assembled my own because I wanted to use stuff from two different BCP’s, and I don’t like shuffling books around during the Office.  Having a separate psalter is enough already!

I also put my vial of anointing oil back on the desk.  During Lent I kept it aside, but the resurrection theme of Easter seemed to be a good reason to bring back the oil used in healing prayers.

On an unrelated personal note, that kneeler has been changing my morning tea-drinking habits.  Typically I drink tea from a fairly large mug, but the ones I usually use don’t fit on the kneeler’s shelf, so if I want to sip tea while saying the prayers I have to use a smaller (normal-sized) mug.

About Fr. Brench

I'm an Anglican Priest and a sci-fi geek. Therefore, I write about spiritual formation, theology, biblical studies, and Doctor Who. But I keep those blogs separate so I don't confuse too many people!
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

