Liturgical Space: Epiphany

Something I’ve come to appreciate in my devotional life is having a “liturgical space” – somewhere set apart for worship only, where there is less to distract me from focusing on God.  Becca & I have a nice secretary desk on loan from a couple who don’t have room for it at the moment, and we’ve been using it to store juice, liquor, napkins, and stuff like that.  In order to prevent us from covering it with junk, since it doesn’t belong to us, I started putting my Bible on it, and after a while my Book of Common Prayer started to inhabit the top of the desk as well, until eventually it evolved into a sort of prayer table.  So I hung up a cross on the wall above it, and have decided to consider it my own liturgical space.  What’s super-fun is the fact that Becca and I got so many wall-hangings as wedding gifts that I’m able to rearrange this space’s trimmings to emphasize different seasons of the year!

This picture is how it’s set up right now for the “ordinary time” after the Epiphany.

Since one of the central commemorations of Epiphany is the baptism of Jesus, when the Trinity is first fully revealed, there are three crosses on the wall.  The upper-left cross has three lines knotting together into a heart in the center, it’s the best I could find to symbolize the Father.  The upper-right cross is also a dove, symbolizing the Holy Spirit (and it’s also captioned “God bless you on your confirmation, which is also a major Holy Spirit-receiving event).  The lower cross represents Jesus, standing in the river below the thundering voice of the Father, and receiving the descending Spirit.

On the top of the desk itself is a scarf that Becca made a while ago.  I half-jokingly call it the “every-season stole” because it is white, red, green, yellow, and purple.  During Christmas and the first week of Epiphany I had a different thing there – a cloth coffee table cover (or something to that effect) depicting the magi giving their gifts to baby Jesus, with Mary & Joseph looking on.  That’s been put away for the year, now.

I’ve got three candles on the desk right now, also symbolizing the Trinity.  The weird-looking one on the right was a sparkly twisty Christmas tree candle, now very drippy.  Although the Christmas season is very much over now, the fact that that candle (and the one on the left) is green, is still appropriate since green is the liturgical color for the current Ordinary Time.

Yes, that’s a set of rosary beads hanging down in the center.  I’m not a regular pray-er of the rosary, but it’s a visual symbol of prayer to me, and I like to have it around there to remind me what that space is really about.

The book on the left side of the desk is my mom’s old RSV Bible, and underneath it is my lectionary.  The book on the right is the BCP 2011 put out by Fr. Keith Acker for trial use in the REC Diocese of the West, and available for any other ACNA dioceses to try out.  It probably won’t be adopted by too many parishes for standard use, but I rather like this iteration for the time being.

And of course on the floor there is a small fleece blanket folded up nice and small so I can kneel on it, since I don’t own a kneeler, and our floor is a hardwood floor.

I don’t know exactly how I’ll change this setup for Lent, but I’ve got some ideas.  I will post a new picture when the time comes!

About Fr. Brench

I'm a Priest in the Anglican Diocese in New England interested in spiritual formation, theology, and the growth of God's Kingdom.
This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Liturgical Space: Epiphany

  1. Beth M says:

    I really do like your space here, though every time I see it, I’m reminded that I intend to make one of our own.

Leave a Reply

